05 July 2009

It's been a little while...

Okay, so it's been a little while. I apologize.

I think this is pretty much the first time I wrote on here since we put Mick down, so I'll start from there and go with it.

I went to watch Marley & Me the weekend after we did it. Not the smartest thing I've ever done. If you know me at all, you know I'm a sucker for cheesy movies and I do tear up pretty easily, but it's usually easily hidden. Just a small amount. No, I was bawling this time. Full-fledged crying. Well, I'm just glad I saw it with a fantastic friend instead of a girl I was trying to impress...sort of wish it was both, but hey, I'll take having good friends over nothing at all. Fast-forwarding to tonight, she's the girl I went to see fireworks in Longswamp with. Next year we're going to fly on the 4th of July, so we can see what they look like from above. With almost anyone else, I'd say it's just a plan we'll never follow through with. I think we'll do it though, I truly do.

OK, backing up again. I don't really know if chronological order is the best way to do this. How about this: love life, personal life, work life, family life.

4 paragraphs, then hopefully I'll be back to normal and have a regular-length post.

Love life: well this could be pretty short...
Girl A: We've been friends a long time and I know nothing will ever come of it, but I always feel like I have to put her there as an option
Girl B: We were becoming very good friends, but she got angry at me for something that wasn't completely in my control and won't talk to me anymore. I'm scratching B off the list.
Girl C: A little bit younger than I normally like (like to consider dating, mind you. Not like to look at). But we've gone out a few times and are becoming pretty good friends, I think. Surprise surprise, another good female friend. I'm not 100% sure what to make of this, so I'll leave C on the list.
Girl D: Well, girl D is pretty much the rest of the female population of the world lumped into one. This way I don't have to search for my 1-in-a-billion girl, I'll just look for 1-in-4. Otherwise I might as well be trying for the Holy Grail. If I remember tomorrow or sometime soon, I'm going to make a list of characteristics I look for in a girl ... I realized I can't be as picky as I once was, but these are pretty (almost all-or-nothing) important, so if you know of anyone, let me know too.

Personal life:
Living alone is pretty sweet. I wish I could afford to do so. I also came to the conclusion I need another job, which I have been looking for. I have ALSO come to the conclusion that it has to be close-by, geographically. If, in the Fall, I'm going back to school and will be needed on campus for my graduate assitantship, or at CVS to work, then I've gotta be within earshot of those. Anyone in the greater Kutztown area hiring?

Things are going relatively well at my church, but for that news I will refer you to the website of our church, or our blog.

Work life:
I guess this could tie into personal life, with things that are going on there. I will, however, say that I'm feeling a lot better about myself when I'm at work. I can't tell you how many times I've heard that I'm such a nice young man, or I explain things well, or whatever. It makes me feel good. It almost makes up for the other 98% of the people who are rude, obnoxious, loud, smelly, over-bearing, discourteous, etc...seriously, I don't come into your job and pretend to know how to do it better than you, please don't do it to me. Oh wait, most of the people who I am talking about get their shit for free because I'm paying for it with my tax dollars. It's amazing how they can spend so much time bitching that their gauze pads aren't covered by their insurance but no time looking for a job. I guess I'm not one to talk too much here, I've done my fair share of complaining lately. I did hear something good the other day though -- to said customer, who was angry that gauze pads (yes, 4"x4" gauze pads, the kind in the first aid aisle for like a dollar) weren't covered by her insurance, even though the doctor called in a prescription for them. "But that's what I'm paying my insurance premiums for. If the doctor wants me to have it, it's supposed to be covered!" Well, said Al (name changed to protect the hilarious), "your doctor could call in a prescription for coca-cola, the insurance isn't going to cover that." As I was trying to hold in my laughter, the (im)patient walked away angry. I wish I kept a tally.

Family life:

Not too much here really...Sister's leaving for China on Friday. She'll be in San Francisco for 3 days, then Shanghai/Beijing for 10.
Mom is leaving for Chicago on Saturday. She was in Egypt in May.
My dad is remodeling his house.
That's about it for my family...

If you made it this far, give me feedback. And by the way, I think I'm going to start using letters and numbers (If I get more than 26) for talking about people. No names, but I can go into detail. Then I would appreciate feedback. For instance: Hey Andrew, M sounds like a bitch, you shouldn't talk to her anymore. That sort of thing. Thanks everyone, and have a super night.

No comments:

Post a Comment